Effective January 1, 2015, a new law makes certain changes to Connecticut’s paid sick leave law.
Employers of 50 or more employees are required to provide annual paid sick leave to each of the employer’s service workers in Connecticut. Eligible employees may use paid sick leave for certain qualifying absences, including to care for the employee’s (or child’s or spouse’s) illness, injury or health condition.
Key changes to the law include the following:
- Changes to the method for determining employer coverage. Under the amendments, employers must annually determine if they meet the 50-employee threshold based on the number of employees on their payroll for the week containing October 1st (prior to January 1, 2015, employers are subject to the law if they employ 50 or more individuals in Connecticut during any of the previous year’s quarters).
- Certain actions to avoid providing leave prohibited. Employers are prohibited from terminating or dismissing any employee, or transferring any employee from one worksite to another solely in order to not qualify as a covered employer under the law.
- Changes to the timeframe for accruing leave. Service workers will accrue 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked, in 1-hour increments up to a maximum of 40 hours per year. Workers will be entitled to carry over up to 40 unused accrued hours from the current year to the next year. The new law defines “year” as any 365-day period an employer uses to calculate employee benefits (prior to January 1, 2015, the timeframe for accruing paid sick leave is based on the calendar year).
Click here to read the text of the law.